Kids Page: 6 sets of children’s books to add to your wishlist | Books and Authors


It can be difficult to say goodbye to our favorite characters at the end of a book. Even in the shortest stories, we feel a connection to the ones described on the page. Fortunately, sometimes the writers choose to continue the storyline in a series and let us enjoy these characters for a bit longer. As we see these people evolving in different environments and taking on new challenges, we learn more about them while probably learning more about ourselves.

As the holidays approach and we begin to search for gifts for the children in our lives, a significant option is a series of books that allow them to have multiple adventures with their favorite characters. From upbeat cats to traveling sisters to inventor children, the following children’s series allow readers to bond with an array of different characters while teaching them many lessons.

“Pete the cat” (box of 3 books)

by Eric Litwin

Pete the cat won’t let anything ruin his day, even when his favorite shoes are stained. As he walks along the sidewalk in “Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes,” he encounters strawberries, blueberries, and other messes that cause his shoes to turn bright white. Rather than being upset, Pete the cat continues to walk and focuses on the good. This state of mind is also present when he explores his new school in “Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes” and when he loses one of the buttons on his favorite shirt in “Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons “.

Ideal for ages 4 to 8, the “Pete the Cat” series emphasizes positive thinking when faced with challenges. It’s easy to let little annoyances affect our mood or ruin our day, but Cat Pete shows that these stresses aren’t worth repeating. Instead, this spirited feline friend encourages readers to take these challenges in stride and take them as lessons.

“Sissies Adventure Series” (set of 3 books)

by Marisa Howard

There are many responsibilities to being an older sister, and one of them is to help your younger sister explore the world. In the “Sissies Adventure Series”, the fat sissy can’t wait to show her little sissy all the fun things to do, whether it’s swimming, hiking or dancing. Thanks to the trips of these loving sisters, your child will certainly be excited about the trip they will make themselves as well as the lasting memories that come with quality time spent with family.

In this three-part series, the group of young siblings explore different terrains, from the beach to the mountains to a different country. Each book is complete with lessons, adventures, and what it takes to be an amazing sibling. The set includes “Sissies at the Sea”, “Sissies in the Mountains” and “Sissies go to Mexico”, and is best suited for children four and under.

Series of books of chapters “Amelia Bedelia” (box of 4 books)

by Herman Parish, illustrated by Lynne Avril

The world was first introduced to Amelia Bedelia in a series of picture books in 1963 by author Peggy Parish. Since then, Peggy’s nephew Herman Parish has revived fan-favorite character in the Amelia Bedelia series of short, fast-paced chapters. Ideal for readers of the Magic Tree House and Junie B. Jones series, Amelia Bedelia is a young girl who finds herself in a range of situations that require her to solve problems and find appropriate solutions. Along the way, Amelia makes a host of new friends who are introduced to the reader through black and white illustrations throughout the books.

This four-book set includes the first chapters of the series: “Amelia Bedelia Means Business”, “Amelia Bedelia Unleashed”, “Amelia Bedelia Road Trip! and “Amelia Bedelia goes wild! Designed for ages 6 to 8, the Amelia Bedelia series is a great start for children who are venturing into reading on their own for the first time.

“If not you, then who?” “(Series of 4 books)

by David Pridham and Emberli Pridham, illustrated by Anyu Rouaux

One of the main questions we are asked as children is, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” While the kids still have so much time to decide, and will likely change their mind a few times, the “If not you, then who?” collection shows children just how many possibilities there are. Not only does it showcase different potential careers, but it also emphasizes certain hobbies and passions that can help children have a beneficial impact on the surrounding communities.

This series of four books aims to teach children how their own interests and passions can materialize into useful inventions. “The Inventor in the Pink Pajamas” tells the story of how Brooke, one of the main characters, overcomes her fear of showing up in front of her classmates while “Noah’s Treehouse” explores the joy felt after completing an exciting project. “Let the games begin!” offers lessons in inclusiveness as Noah and Brooke design a fun new sport for everyone while “We’re Going Green! »Teaches children the importance of taking care of their community. Through these various journeys undertaken by Brooke and Noah, readers from all walks of life learn that no dream is too big and that no dreamer is too small to be successful.

Bad Kitty Chapter Book Series

by Nick Bruel

Another option for readers who are starting to tackle books on their own is the “Bad Kitty” chapter book series. Kitty, the main character, is a domestic cat who continues to wreak havoc around her owner’s house when she is in a bad mood, which is almost all the time. The recognizable white-breasted black cat has many dislikes, from baths to birthdays to family members. Over the course of the series, Kitty learns that many of the things she despises can, in fact, be pleasurable experiences. By opening her mind to new encounters, she teaches the reader that optimism and openness are essential in tackling new adventures.

This set includes seven of Nick Bruel’s “Bad Kitty” chapter books, such as the favorites “Bad Kitty Gets a Bath”, “Happy Birthday Bad Kitty” and “Bad Kitty Vs. Uncle Murray. The box also includes an interactive journal. for readers called “Bad Kitty Keep Your Paws Off My Journal” where they can answer questions about their own adventures.

Series “Do not let the pigeon”

by Mo Willems

“Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus! Is a children’s title recognized by readers around the world. In this Caldecott-Medal picture book, a bus driver pauses and asks the reader not to let a particular pigeon drive his bus. While the handler provides the reader with a list of reasons why the pigeon should not be allowed to drive, the pigeon informs the reader of all of their qualifications. This contrast leads the reader to make decisions based on moral responsibilities while exploring the art of persuasion presented by the pigeon.

Mo Willems’ series includes six books: “Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus! “,” … “” The Duckling Gets a Cookie! “And” The Pigeon Wants a Puppy. “Each of these books explores the responsibility of keeping promises, the power of persuasion and the value of being held accountable while making the reader laugh.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn income on qualifying purchases.


Comments are closed.